Chris' Recipes

Bon Appetite!

Social Security Agreement Germany Japan

Written By: Chris - Oct• 08•21

The other Member States or Contracting States must also take account of German periods when examining their eligibility conditions. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (United Kingdom) left the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020. Nevertheless, for the time being, European law remains in force as far as the United Kingdom is concerned. This is reflected in the withdrawal agreement negotiated between the EU and the UK, which entered into force on 1 February 2020. Select the name of the country from the following list to display the actual text of the agreement with that country. If you have accumulated periods of insurance in a country with which the Federal Republic of Germany does not have a social security agreement, you must apply yourself to the competent foreign insurance institution. The European pension insurance law was created for people who work or have worked in different European countries during their working lives. It aims to ensure that they suffer as little inconvenience as possible in terms of social security. Please note that periods of insurance may be added only within Member States and separately between the Federal Republic of Germany and its Contracting States, but not between them. For example, if you worked in the Federal Republic of Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland and Canada, German insurance periods can be added to British and Irish periods under European law or German periods can be added to Canadian insurance periods under the German-Canadian agreement. It is not possible to add up all the accumulated periods (German, British, Irish and Canadian) to fill, for example, the 45-year waiting period. The Federal Republic of Germany has currently signed reciprocal social security agreements with 20 countries.

These agreements essentially govern the acquisition of pension authorisation and the payment of pensions in the countries concerned. The Withdrawal Agreement provides for a transitional period until 31 December 2020, renewable once for one or two years if the UK and the EU reach an agreement until 30 June 2020. During the transition period, European law and, therefore, the rules for the coordination of European social security legislation vis-à-vis the United Kingdom continue to apply. Therefore, there is no change for insured persons who are entitled to a pension for the first time or who are entitled to a pension until the 31st. For people who are already receiving a pension, on 1 December 2020. .

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.